Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to site

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default New to site

Hi all. Had my issues signing up, but I've been browsing the forum for several months now. Glad to finally be able to have input.
    I am a 43 y/o male living in west Texas - United States.
    I guess i start with my story (briefly). I was diagnosed in January 2010. I had a limited case then - confined to the sinuses. I had lots of sinus and ear issues and extreme fatigue. It took about 6 months to diagnose Wegener's. My rhumy put me on cytoxan tablets for 6 months and i reached remission. Then I started methotrexate and ran with that for about a year.
    My ANCA began to drift back somewhere in the middle of 2012, and then the blood in my urine began to increase. My rhumy decided to have me do a series of 4 Rhetuxan infusions. I only made it through 2. I went into the ER on the 22nd of December 2012 with what i thought was tracheal stenosis. My trachea was fine, but my bloodwork came back showing I was in renal failure. I had no idea. I was admitted and spent the next 16 or 17 days in the hospital. I never had to do dialysis, but I did several other proceedures (several a day). anyway, I am doing better now but looking to do even better as time passes.
    I am currently doing cytoxan infusions monthly and tapering steroids.
    I guess the biggest issues ive had are with depression and a feeling of uselessness with my 9 y/o daughter and feeling like a burdon to my wife. I was used to being active and outdoors, now i am content to sit around the house. hopefully i will feel more active once i am off the cytoxan.