User Tag List

Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Arrrgggg! Its got me..... or is it I got it?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Arrrgggg! Its got me..... or is it I got it?

Diagnosed in Feb this year.
    Guess I should count myself as very lucky as it has been caught very early and compared to the experiences of many other sufferers, I have nothing to complain about. I actually feel a bit of a cheat. In reality though, I am just beginning to come to terms with WG. I am finding it hard to accept that I can’t do the things I could do just a few months ago. Still, after 3 months I can nearly pronounce it!!!

History.
    I was a quite fit male of 54 years, an average runner who knocked out 30 miles a week on a regular basis. Completed marathons in under 3hours 20min and who was training to run Paris & London marathons this year (April). I was picking up the weekly mileage in September 09 and there was a slight thought in my mind that this is tough! (I thought it was just age!). In October my wife and I went on a 5 week vacation.

Second day in, (Singapore) I started to get a stuffy nose. I thought hay fever, as it was spring over there and tried the usual cures. This did not work so started hitting the cold/flu remedies to no avail. Moved through Australia, New Zealand & the States getting advice form pharmacists etc, tried a lot but still no improvement. By this time my nose was running like a tap and I felt personally responsible for global warming via the number of trees required to keep me in tissues!

My hearing in my left ear started to go and by the end of the holiday had gone completely. I also had continual headaches and general un-wellness. Whilst in NZ I had agreed to run a half marathon with a relative which I did. I was lucky that she was a lot slower than me so managed it quite well.