Likes Likes:  26

Thread: New to forum, not new to GPA

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default New to forum, not new to GPA

Hello, I'm a 33 year old female and I've been diagnosed with GPA for about 10 years now. I was researching GPA, for the millionth time, when I came across this forum and really wanted to join in. I've got a lot of years of stuff to pull from, but I'll admit that I'm not very good with remembering what happened exactly when or technical names. I was still very young when I was first diagnosed and my family has been amazing at helping me. I'm going to try and be as concise as possible, but I also know I like to ramble, and I may have already tried to write this a few times already and I'll be at this forever if I don't just submit it.

I came home from a miserable college semester with a desire to quit my current school and major. I didn't have any idea what I'd do next but thought I would take the winter to decide. Over December I began getting a lot of headaches so I went to my GP. She said it was my sinuses and was probably an infection. After a few months of seeing her every few weeks, my sinuses weren't getting any better and I had started developing aches in my joints. It got to a point where they were so stiff and sore that I couldn't get out of bed by myself and the process had me screaming in pain. So my GP began looking for new diagnoses and eventually got a positive ANCA test back. She sent me to a rheumatologist who put me on methotrexate. I should add that I was not on any steroids and he did not but me on any at that time. The next few months were rough. I hurt constantly. After several months they decided they would have to put me on prednisone as well. It took a few more months before they reached a dose that was high enough to combat my pain. But it was glorious not to hurt.