Likes Likes:  12

Thread: Finally confirmed

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Finally confirmed

I have been visiting this site as guest off and on since 2014 when I was tentatively diagnosed with possible Wegeners(GPA) or Churg-Strauss(EGPA). With pred and Methotrate the initial problems which were sinus, joint flares and large red skin patches were controlled. The joint flares were not well controlled and this past spring (April and May 2018) the joint flares reach a point of one a week. At which point, sought a second opinion. The new doctor thought it was not GPA and suggested it was a RA or similar problem and I started Humira. Follow on blood test showed great improvement and I was working on reducing the pred when something went wrong. I developed serious gum problems, and ear problems. A biopsy of the gums confirmed (finally) that it was GPA. The doctor upped the pred , dropped the humira and I am to start rituximab as soon as they can get it scheduled. I am very concerned about starting rituximab. How effective is it and how quickly does it work?

2. Likes Alysia, Dirty Don, bobjannj liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Finally confirmed

Hi Carolyn,

Welcome to the club. Most people tolerate rituximab pretty well. A very few have an allergic reaction. When you get rituximab, you’ll also get a big dose of steroids, some benadryl, and some tylenol to minimize adverse reactions. I had my 13th infusion last week. I’ve never had a problem taking it.

Rituximab generally takes several weeks to take full effect, so your doc will probably keep your steroid at present level for awhile.

Keep us posted about your progress!!
    Pete
    dx 1/11

"Every day is a good day. Some are better than others." - unknown

"Take your meds as directed and live your life as fully as you can." - Michael Chacey, MD