Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What caused your Wegeners?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default What caused your Wegeners?

Having only been recently diagnosed, I am still learning about Wegener's , but I have been told that no one really knows what causes it to start.

My doctor said I may have had something like a cold and my immune system for some reason went into overdrive.

I was wondering if you have theories/suspect something that brought your wegener's on?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I think about this everyday and too many variable, plus I was very young around 12 when I started with wg symptoms. Vaccines? bacteria? virus?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I like to think it is probably a very sensitive immune system triggered by an infection.
    Just another half baked theory I know! I've never read anything claiming to know the true cause.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

When I was in India at the end of 2008 my boyfriend and I both got a boil- he got it first and his got very badly infected. I was reluctant to go to a doctor so I diagnosed it myself as having been caused by staph and found what antibiotics I needed on the internet. Now I wonder if the staph (if that's what it was) or the antibiotics triggered the wegener's, although it was some time after I became ill.

I remember this incident particularly because I've never usually been an 'ill' person.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Mandycc View Post
    I've never usually been an 'ill' person.
    That is what most people on here say. Hence my "sensitive immune system" theory.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)