Likes Likes:  1

Thread: GPA and Low T

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default GPA and Low T

I'm new to this so thanks for your patience. My GPA is currently under control with daily usage of Azathioprine. Creatin number is low. However, at my annual Check up with my GP, my testoterone level is also very very low and he wants me to have injections. However, in researching it appears to me that if you have severe kidney disorders, the injections are not suggested. Has anyone experienced this combination of issues. What were you told?

Thanks, Jim

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: GPA and Low T

First of all welcome to the forum. I have been in stage 3 kidney failure for about 6 years. When my T count gets below a number my dr. will give me for a shot of T. One a month for 3 or 4 months, until my T count rises above my target number. I do this about one time a year with no additional damage to my kidneys. Your target numbers may be much higher or lower than me. In my case I get the shots to get my bone marrow to produce blood for me. I hope this helps you a little bit.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: GPA and Low T

I had significant kidney damage (I was stage two from diabetes before Wegs which really hit my kidneys hard) and low Testosterone resulted from damage during Weg treatment and they discussed T shots for me but decided to watch and wait and after a few months both improved. Both have remained at same levels for several years, stable but below normal, and borderline to very low normal limits.