Likes Likes:  0

Thread: MTX question

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default MTX question

I have been using injectable methotrexate for nearly two years. I tolerate it well, experiencing only some mild nausea occasionally during the day or two after the weekly injection. My rheumatologist at the time of diagnosis said he preferred the injectable solution because it is more effective than oral. I know sometimes people are "upgraded" from oral to injectable if they aren't getting optimal results from the pills, or at least I think I've heard that. I'm wondering if anyone has gone the other direction, from injections to pills. I'm thinking of asking my doctor about making that change, partly because the insurance coverage would be better for the pills, and partly because the injections are slightly inconvenient. On the other hand my treatment has been effective and I don't want to jeopardize that by making a change. Has anyone out there made the change from injections to pills? If so did you note any changes in symptoms or different side effects.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Of those of us on mtx, I think the vast majority are on the oral version. I actually hadn't thought about injectable mtx before you mentioned it. Given most of us are on oral mtx, that probably speaks volumes as to its effectiveness.....

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)