User Tag List

Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Wegener's sucks... (in case someone didn't already know)

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Wegener's sucks... (in case someone didn't already know)

Seems to be the thing to do here, so I'll continue the tradition by whining out my story for anyone to read...

April 2012 I had been slipping down a strange slope for five months, with seemingly unrelated medical problems which had no apparent connection (except in hindsight). Hands crippled by extreme pain (veins being attacked). Upper respiratory issues so severe as to be indescribable (I was passing out due to lack of oxygen). Tissue... uhm... abnormalities... in my mouth which were so severe there was discussion of pulling all my teeth before they fell out, and then amputating half of my jaw. Mild chest pain from both heart and lung areas. Swelling in legs and feet. Extreme fatigue. Also a mild case of general ugliness, but that predates Wegeners.

So... the periodontist (absolute dedicated genius) spent an hour and a half looking into my mouth for the third or fourth time when he said: "I need to take a tissue biopsy and send it to a lab in California." He had just figured it out from memory of a patient long ago, and wanted confirmation before telling me. Biopsy result and positive C-ANCA confirmed Wegener's diagnosis. My symptoms were already extreme but rapidly escalated, three days later I was in the hospital.