Thread: Any teachers out there with WG?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Any teachers out there with WG?

Hi everyone,

I was training to be a teacher in 2010 and was diagnosed with WGs just before my final practicum. I managed to finish my degree in 2011 with a lot of support from the University and the school I was training at. I have been working full time as a teacher since 2012. In 2012 as a 1-on-1 teacher outside the classroom, with children with different needs, in 2013 as part-time class teacher and part-time 1-on-1 teacher with children with different needs, but this year was the first time I had a class all to myself.

I am working with New Entrance (in New Zealand that's the 5-year-olds), I am constantly exhausted and feeling run down, especially at the moment. My WG's is considered in remission, though I am on azathioprine (150mg), prednisone (5mg). I was informed this year that I would need to be on meds indefinitely. I have tracheal stenosis (50%), which was found last year and am always tired. I know a lot of people at school are also exhausted as it does get full on this time in the year.

Is there any teachers out there who are on meds and working full time as a Teacher? I am thinking of lowering my hours next year, though financially (I am single) this would be tougher. I am 33-years-old and came to teacher later in life. I love my job and the staff I am working with. So am confused about what to do. Will it get better? Or will I always feel like this, tired and run down?

I would love to hear what other Teachers are doing who have WGs?

Cheers

Airini

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)