Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Flares

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Flares

Does anybody know why a person would get flares while in remission? At my last doctor's visit, they gave me a tonne of questions to determine if what I was going through were in fact flares or that's just how my body behaves. She told me that some flares are so bad that a patient has to be hospitalized for it. Well, thank God it wasn't like that for me. But even up until last night, I had the crusting in the nose which hasn't happened since last summer and the nosebleed along with it. Also, the harsh coughs are back since last week. Wegener's can be really hard to understand when it comes to the symptoms. I feel bad for asymptomactic Wegener's people because you can't really complain about what's not bothering you...while it's damaging you.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Chadwyck,
    I am an ICU nurse and one of the hardest things to wrap my head around (still is) is that there are no cause and effects with Wegeners, I educate ICU nurses and I teach them to always anticipate what is coming next. You can't do that with Wegeners. This is a sneaky disease that has no rhyme or reason. In the beginning I worked out elaborate charts to track my symptoms and try to predict the next move. Other than being a nice historical information gathering instrument it had little predictive value. Jack advised me early on that I couldn't quantify or predict. Two years later and I still have no clue. I think for the very first time I may be in remission, although it takes 10mg of methotraxate, 5 mg of prednisone and 800/160 Bactrim to keep me there. I still can't walk more than 15 feet without becoming short of breath but when I use my scooter I feel good. I still tire easily, riding my scooter all over the unit all day makes me tired (go figure) but this is the best I have felt. I am aware that this afternoon