Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sick while immuno-suppressed

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Sick while immuno-suppressed

I woke up yesterday and didn't feel well (more than usual). By late morning I had developed a low grade fever of about 100.4. I called Kaiser and got an appointment with a GP that was there on Saturday. She did a chest x-ray which didn't show anything (besides the usual stuff that is taking a while to heal) and ran some blood tests...some I've got back and some I haven't. The GP was able to get a hold of my Rheumy...they prescribed Avalox (400mg/day) and sent me home with instructions that if my fever got to 101+ that I go to the hospital. My fever broke that afternoon (with out medicinal assistance) and then came back again today. So I obviously have something, I just don't know what. I'm new at all this and was very afraid of getting an infection. Now that I have one, I'm wondering what to expect. What should I be watching out for? I finished four treatments of RTX about two months ago, I am now on 50mg or pred and 175mg of Imuran.

The thing that really sucks about this is that I just started back at work this past week...already I'm going to start using up some of my sick time. Perhaps it was too soon to return to work...

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

norcalian,
    Sorry to hear your sick. I haven't done RTX, I'm on CTX, but I got a cold a couple months ago. I took it extra easy, and it seemed to run the course of a regular cold, just longer. It took about 6 weeks to go away.
    Hope you start feeling better soon!
    Nicole

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

It can really vary. I've had some simple colds hang on for weeks, and other times a cold clears up much faster than normal. I've had pneumonia and that was bad.