PDA

View Full Version : Drug induced Diabetes

Hammy8241
05-28-2010, 04:23 AM
As a newbie I have a more questions than answers so I hope you don’t mind me asking, but I would welcome your input into Diabetes.

As a lorry driver in the UK, should I develop insulin controlled diabetes then I would lose my licence and thus job and ability to support my family. My father had old age diabetes so should I worry? I’m currently on 20mg Pred but there is a chance of it increasing to 30mg soon as the current dose is not controlling some of the symptoms although as mentioned in my newbie post, this may be due to me doing to much. So I’m waiting a while to see if it calms down. Don’t want to increase unless I have to.

Anyway, back to the questions!

Is diabetes common amongst WG’ers?

Is Insulin controlled diabetes the exception or the norm?

Other than ditching the intake of doughnuts and chocolate, using sweetener rather than sugar and generally watching my diet, what else can I do to help myself prevent the potential onset?

Finally are there any other signs I should be looking out for other than the thirsty/ peeing a lot ones?

Many thanks in advance

elephant
05-28-2010, 04:32 AM