PDA

View Full Version : Bath or Shower

BARON
04-21-2010, 06:07 PM
Hi all seeking some advice looking at changing bathroom for D would fitting a jacuzzi or shower be best ?

Luce
04-21-2010, 07:05 PM
I think it would be up to Dee's personal preference and physical condition - does she have mobility problems which would prevent her climbing in/out of a bath? Or is fatigue a problem that would mean she couldn't stand up in the shower for 10-15 minutes without needing to sit down?
I've always liked the look of the walk in baths you see advertised on daytime telly, which has a seat built in usually with a shower head above so you can either sit to shower or fill as a bath after getting in. The only problem is you have to sit there until it drains again before you can open the door to get out.
Don't forget your own personal preference too as you also need to use whatever you choose!

renidrag
04-22-2010, 04:33 AM
As a plumber I would ask what you or Dee are used to. If you have the room I would put in a stand up shower with a built in seat. A good carpenter and tile man can do it. Make sure there is a hand held shower head and valve close by the seat for personal use. With a regular shower head also, it is useable for all. You may want to make sure you put backing in for grab bars. Not that you need them now but someday you may and it will also be a selling feature. Then I would get a hot tub for outdoors, with a heater and cover (sigh). Much better on the water bill and all.
Dale

BARON
04-22-2010, 06:12 AM
Hi it was more the medical side of things if a Jacuzzi was ok with the vascular side of things

elephant
04-22-2010, 07:00 AM
You might to ask your Rhuemy. Hot tubs are probably not a good idea.

Sangye
04-22-2010, 08:00 AM