PDA

View Full Version : Urinalysis

snooz23
01-21-2010, 12:11 PM
Just wondering if anyone has had experience w/ having abnormal results w/ protein, bacteria, Leuk Esterase and high WBC and RBC in the urine. I guess I am hoping it may be some kind of infection rather than wgs affecting the kidneys. My BUN and creatinine in the blood is in normal range. Since I am still at the point of blood work/urinalysis on a weekly basis my docs caught it early and have ordered additional tests, but just thought I would see if anyone out there has experience?

pberggren1
01-21-2010, 12:18 PM
I didn't know I was an alysis!

Jokes aside, I don't think I have had that before Susanne. Sometimes I get clasts in the urine but not White or Red Cells. Maybe a litle protein. What is Leuk Esterase?

JanW
01-21-2010, 12:24 PM
Is weekly blood and urine analysis standard on a new diagnosis, and for how long? I'm new to all this -- just diagnosed today.

pberggren1
01-21-2010, 01:07 PM
From what I have heard every week is normal in the beginning and once in remission usually every month will do.

elephant
01-21-2010, 01:35 PM
Urinalysis that shows protien, wbc and rbc means that you could have an infection, but they would have to culture that and that takes 48 hrs. Don't get alarmed yet. If your creatinine is with-in normal limits than you should be good. With a bladder infection you usually have burning when peeing. Sometimes lower abdominal pain and back pain. Were hoping not a WG flare.

snooz23
01-21-2010, 02:21 PM
Thanks for the input.
Jan, I have been doing weekly blood/urine tests since dx and treatment begin 9/2009...sometimes I am like jeeeez how many times do I have to go get stuck at the lab? but I guess it is for stuff like this...they need to catch stuff early. I am currently on metho. and pred. and bacterim and folic acid and lots of vitamins--never taken so many pills in my life.

snooz23
01-21-2010, 02:33 PM