PDA

View Full Version : Newby

Marli Hattingh
06-11-2016, 07:53 PM
Hi everyone, thanks for accepting me, i am new to this GPA, was admitted to hospital in April 2016, where they picked up that i have Tracheal Stenosis, as well as that i have a big cavity in the sinuses.... Did alot of tests, tested positive for C-Anca, they did not yet get it confirmed with a biopsy, bit they started me on Pulmison and Cytoxan, just want to find out, is there anything that i can change in my eating habits that will help? And is there any advice on drs in Gauteng, South Africa.

andrew
06-11-2016, 10:39 PM
Hi Marli and welcome. Steroids and Cytoxan are standard treatment in most cases. There are lots of differing opinions on diet. If you have kidney involvement which I'm assuming you don't then a renal diet can help. At this point the best I can suggest is just eat healthy and give your body as much good stuff as you can. There are others on here with better diet advice than me though :)

For doctors, I'm sure there are several members from South Africa here - hopefully one of them will chime in.

Alysia
06-12-2016, 10:04 PM
Welcome to the forum Marli.

Steroids and ctx are the common treatment for wg. Although there is also another treatment which is common, rituximab. It is more expensive so docs usually give it if other treatments couldnt help.

Eating healthy food is sure important. No sugars or perservatives or junk food. No alcohol.
Anyway, there is NOT any way to treat wg by any diet. We need the meds. No choice. Sorry.

We have Rose from South Africa. I didnt see her around already long time so I suggest you to send her pm. This is her profile http://www.wegeners-granulomatosis.com/forum/members/rose.html

As for tracheal stenosis there is subforum here for this issue: Tracheal Stenosis (http://www.wegeners-granulomatosis.com/forum/tracheal-stenosis/)

Good luck and please update us how are you doing.

Alysia
06-12-2016, 10:32 PM