PDA

View Full Version : New Member from Australia!

Darwin19910
02-02-2015, 02:32 AM
Hey All!

23 Years old I am from Darwin, Northern Territory, AUS and was diagnosed with WG in August 2014. Initially went into hospital with suspected pneumonia that wasn't responding to regular antibiotics. After a nasal and lung biopsy they discovered I have WG! Which was a surprise to me, as I had never even heard of it (not that I'm a medical professional to say the least haha)!

Anyway I had had nasal issues for the past couple of years before that with constant nose bleeds, sinus pain/blockage and swelling which I later found was to do with WG. I was initially started on infusions of cyclophosphamide and was taking prednisolone as well as all the many other wonderful pills that come with the condition... Six months down the track and they have switched me over to methotrexate and have recently put me on to dexamethasone (which I have been experiencing a few side-effects with, more so than the pred and cyclo anyway).

Have had plenty of ups and downs and struggled trying to come to terms with things I can and can't do anymore due to the medication and recovery periods. I found it quite hard not being able to be as active with sports and exercise as I used to be. But with great support from family and friends it definitely helped me through some of my more miserable days!

Look forward to chatting with everyone and having questions answered and hopefully helping answer some of them myself!

Dirty Don
02-02-2015, 05:04 AM