PDA

View Full Version : Understanding medications - its limits (and mine!)

duffybear
12-30-2014, 03:48 PM
Given that I was only diagnosed 10 days ago, I am very new to the medication(s) and this condition. It would help me to have some feedback about what's happening.

The respirologist put me on 50 mg. of prednisone for 8 days, then I dropped down to 25 mg. (for the next 2 months). That's for now; I assume a rheumatologist will (hopefully) get involved soon, and maybe he/she add something else. For the first 2 days, needless to say, I was the healthiest and most with-it I had been in months; about 90% of my symptoms disappeared. I probably pushed myself too much. I then had a slight fallback; more sinus issues (not a lot) and some cough. Now that I've dropped back to 25 mg., I'm getting that again - another slight increase in symptoms.

I assume that, unlike most medications (e.g. such as antibiotics), one doesn't necessarily experience a steady improvement on prednisone and other meds. I am guessing that my poor little immune system is chugging along, trying to cope as best it can, and not necessarily knowing what the heck is going on (especially if I push myself). So things may be all over the place, to some degree.

Does that sound accurate? I am beginning to suspect I need to (1) not expect uphill progress all the time (but hopefully some of it!) and (2) learn to pace myself! I guess I need to figure out "the new normal" in my life - which may be a moving target.

Pete
12-30-2014, 04:14 PM
Hi Duffy,

Since the only med you mention is prednisone, I'm assuming that you're not taking any immunosuppressant. Your rheumatologist will probably put you on something.