PDA

View Full Version : Employment with WG

sbeach78
06-06-2014, 06:35 AM
I lost my job in all this mess we call WG. With no education I have always made a living in labor bound jobs. Wondering what everyone else is doing for a living?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2

renidrag
06-06-2014, 06:46 AM
What did you do for a living? I was a Master Plumber, but no longer. Had to go on disability. I'm sure I am much older than you as I was close to thinking of retirement.
Dale

sbeach78
06-06-2014, 06:51 AM
I installed Dish Network TV Systems and Alarm Systems.

windchime
06-06-2014, 10:38 AM
You can apply for social security disability. It's not easy to get through it, but it can be done. I was just approved a couple of weeks ago, I was able to do it with no appeal. That of course depends on your age and how many quarters you've paid in. If you go to the social security web site you can pull up your personal information and it will tell you how you much you would receive (approx) if you were approved for SSD.

If you would like further info on the SSD process PM me and I'll be happy to share what I know.

vdub
06-06-2014, 04:11 PM
Situations like yours are the ones I hate hearing about. I take it you are reasonably young. I am extremely fortunate to have retired a couple years before the WG symptoms showed up. It will take a while (4 years for me), but eventually you could get to a point where you can do the less labor-intensive jobs, but you probably have to go back to school and retrain yourself for different career path. Maybe IT, accounting, banking, etc Something where you think more than you do...

LisaT
06-06-2014, 04:32 PM