PDA

View Full Version : Tooth and gums pain

Squiggled
05-23-2014, 01:54 AM
For the last month, mostly since my diagnosis and starting treatment my gums are killing me! I have saddle nose and a constant bloody reminder that my sinuses are being destroyed as we speak. But that's not the painful part! I can't even get thru a meal without holding my toothbrush and massaging my gums to relieve some of the pain. Before I started carrying toothbrush with me I would scratch my gums until they bleed. Then I have to meticulously floss after the meal, and brush again. Can the same thing that is destroying our sinuses effect our gums? I don't have dental insurance so I don't know what to do. It just hurts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Pete
05-23-2014, 01:57 AM
A call to your doc or dentist is in order. You have a medical condition that may cover your gum problem. Hope you get to feeling better soon.

Beverly
05-23-2014, 10:21 AM
Hi Squig
I am new to responding, not to tell you what you should do, but to share with you the gum/teeth/facial pain that I have had. Before being Dx with WG, I went to a neurologist (saw dentist day before who said my facial pain was not caused by my teeth) who ordered an MRI/MRS. It was decided that I had trigeminal neuralgia. Treated me with Gabapentin for nerve pain. Had some lesions or scarring on brain, but no cause for alarm. My Rheumy has said that everything is now under WG umbrella (my word). Along with the gum/teeth/facial pain, I have bee stings on the lip, feels swollen when it is not, creepy crawlies up my cheek. Cannot be in cold air, out in the wind,etc.
Whether this is a new and diff condition or just another thing that the nasty WG demon has snuck :sneaky:up on you with, you will be able to handle this. You have come thru so much and this challenge will bother you, but you will be able later to encourage and comfort someone else. I am praying for you and docs as you work thru your treatment for this.

LisaT