PDA

View Full Version : Excited to meet you!

Squiggled
05-16-2014, 09:27 PM
Hi, my name is Heather, not only new to the forums, but new to wegeners. As I have read and lived.... Our journeys are so long and growing.
My story (short version), I was a very successful business owner 10 years ago. I wore heels to work every day and one day I said, my knee hurts....
I don't even know how to tell my story :(
soon after I was diagnosed with lupus sle. Put on prednisone and pain pills. Fast forward 10 years and I haven't worked since, gained 150 lbs, list friends, got divorced, lost my home, and I was still in pain, up to 23 medications, and being told I was an anomaly. Nothing made me feel better. I had completely forgotten what normal or good was. I had resolved myself to that life, kept journals for my kids to read because I just wanted to die.
Im not even sure or dont remember what prompted a change, my dr asked if I had seen my RA dr recently, I said no because not only did my insurance change, but the one I went to was a quack. She said I needed an RA dr. Being on disability, options are slim. She called a dr friend( I found out later) and begged for her to take me on, and she did. I had to drive 30 miles away, but after 10 years, what is 30 miles?
I saw her soon after and after a review of symptoms she mentions that she wants to test me for wegeners. I had no idea what that was, I didn't even know the meaning of the words she used to explain it. Vasculitis? Never heard of it.
She is part of a dr specialty group. The doctors actually know and communicate with each other!!!! Omg never heard of that! I didn't know at that point I was the poster child for wegeners. My kidneys were functioning below 50%, in 1 year I had pneumonia 4 times, pertussis, asthma and I was hoarse for over 8 months. I told her I could do party tricks, I had no cartilage left inside my nose, it was all a gaping hole.