PDA

View Full Version : Greetings and Salutations!

JenG
12-23-2013, 03:26 PM
Hello All!
I have been directed to your site by a fellow Weggie family member who works with my sister. I've been perusing the forum now for a few months and decided today to finally join the fun!

A little about myself (I will be brief as my story, like others, could go on and on): I was dx with WG back in 2000 after 9+ months of doctors appointments and tests. I was finally diagnosed after suffering from complete renal failure. I was not treated with the standard treatment back then (cytoxin was the only serious treatment in 2000) as Mayo said the only reason to take the cytoxin would be to save my kidneys-which were already gone. I was on dialysis for 10 months being treated with Prednisone and immunosuppressives (preparing for transplant). My father gave me one of his kidneys on 12/12/2000--we just celebrated our 13 year transplant anniversary! I was not followed by a rheumatologist--just my transplant doctor and began to consider myself as a transplant patient, not a WG patient. My original WG involvement included kidneys, lungs, sinuses skin/joints. It never really occurred to me and no one ever mentioned that WG could flare or come out of remission or that I should be seeing a rheumatologist, strange, huh?