PDA

View Full Version : Experience after anesthesia

JanW
02-09-2012, 07:59 AM
As many of you know, I had reconstructive surgery on my nose last Wednesday. I was under for 5 hours. Since then I have noticed a lack of concentration and I feel much more relaxed (a really pretty pleasant experience actually). Physically I'm healing well (on pred, antibiotics), but I dont have my mental energy back. Is this pretty typical? Someone told me it was one day of mental recovery for evey hour of anesthesia.

I can do things that require lower attention or are fairly mindless/ pleasurable (I've been cooking a lot) but I'm not so up for reading or engaging in long conversations. Havent been doing ny work (I'm a writer) although I could. Basically I have no motivation. Maybe this is my mind's way of making sure my body rests.

Nancy-S
02-09-2012, 08:33 AM
Jan, prior to getting sick, I had reconstructive surgery on my nose. It was a septaplasty/rhinoplasty (elective) surgery. I was shocked at the length of time that it took me to feel "normal". My children visited their grandma for three weeks because I was unable to fully care for them. I spent most of that time recovering. I was mentally slow and physically tired the entire time.

Glad the surgery went well. Have u seen it yet? I'm so excited for you!

JanW
02-09-2012, 09:05 AM
I go in tomorrow afternoon for the big reveal!

Nancy-S
02-09-2012, 01:35 PM
Remember that it will be swollen for a long time. It takes months to settle into place. I couldn't breathe thru my nose for a very long time but it was worth it. Let us know how you like it.

mama2005
02-09-2012, 02:11 PM
I hope you like the new nose.

Sangye
02-09-2012, 03:33 PM
I think you should definitely mention it to your doctor, Jan. Anaesthesia affects people differently. I also suggest asking if anything unusual happened during the surgery.

KathyB
02-10-2012, 12:54 AM