PDA

View Full Version : Wegs Progression

HopeinTN
11-10-2011, 12:41 PM
Forgive me if this has already been asked/discussed, but I'm curious as to th eprogression of Wegs. I know we are all different and it sounds like there are various levels of Wegs, but in general, what can I expect?

Currently, it's effected my lungs. Even though I've had sinus/upper respiratory issues for awhile as well as bladder/urinary tract/kidney issues and stones, both my kidneys and sinuses look good. Here's where my concern comes in. Will it always be in just my lungs? I'm still new at this and have a lot of questions for my doc at my next appointment, that I never thought to ask until I got on here.

Meds are still going ok for now and I have my first post cytoxan labs this week. I can't help but think about the future and how this crazy disease plays out. Is the worst behind me? The lung lobectomy was no walk in the park, nor was the collapsed lung or thoracentesis.

Any info is greatly appreciated and I'm so grateful to all on this forum.

Thanks,

Al
11-10-2011, 01:27 PM
No, I don't suppose your lung issues were a walk in the park, and probably not a fast jog, either, at least for the foreseeable future! As to the progression, you answered this yourself: we are all different. There are hints, though. If your sinuses and kidney's are doing okay, there is a good shot of keeping them out of the battle zone. It was the lungs that led me to seek medical attention, but the kidneys bore the brunt of the disease. The lungs are now doing quite well, considering. I'm always at 98-99 percent oxygen, even after a brisk workout, and the PFT comes back at almost optimum for my age. I still have some congestion, but I've had that since childhood. The plus side for you, and I can't emphasize this enough, is that other thing: "I can't help but think of the future...". What a remarkable thing to say! So long as you believe there will be better days, there will be.

Al

HopeinTN
11-10-2011, 01:43 PM