maria garcia
10-26-2011, 12:47 PM
Has anyone had plasmapheresis done?

vdub
10-26-2011, 02:00 PM
Not I. Are you scheduled for this?

maria garcia
10-26-2011, 04:22 PM
I heard a radio interview with a Wegners Dr., I believe from Mayo, and he suggested this should be the first thing done to a patient who has just been diagnosed and then the meds. I had never heard of this procedure. I wondered if anyone in this forum has had it done. Apparently its used to remove the Ancas in the blood. Im new to this just trying to get more information on whats out this.

rif
10-26-2011, 09:01 PM
MY son had plasmapheresis on a daily basis for ten days when he was first admitted to ICU on initial diagnosis. It was done by the kidney dialysis team who brought a portable machine to ICU each time. They placed a catheter into his thigh to enable them to administer the treatment, this was of course removed after the final day. Similar procedure to dialysis and the number of treatments is dependent on how quickly the cells are cleared. The team assured me it was painless but as my son was sedated and on a breathing machine during this time I could not ask him what it felt like. This procedure definately contributed to keeping him alive during those early day as it was the only real alternative at the time to try to stabilise his condition before other medication took effect. Hope this helps good luck.

maria garcia
10-27-2011, 03:14 AM
How is your son doing?

Chris G
10-27-2011, 03:21 AM
It seems like plasamapheresis is probably reserved for the most severe cases - life and death situations.

Kami
10-27-2011, 04:57 AM
Hi, I had it daily for 7 days when I was first diagnosed.