PDA

View Full Version : General impression of this web site.

drz
08-17-2011, 06:23 AM
I notice I have been using this web site for over 13 months. I think it is one of the best sources of support and information on GPA you can find on the internet. Generally it is very user friendly. I like the options of being able to easily check the latest posts and to go automatically to last one that is unread.

It amazes me that I have not seen any spam ads posted here, flame wars, or troublesome trolls that often try to upset and disrupt things on other types of forums. Maybe it is due to extreme diligence of the administrator and skill in sorting out legitimate posters from the trouble makers. The guidelines to avoid posts on religion and politics probably also help in maintaining a helpful courteous tone, but I think generally the members here do a great job in self monitoring and showing respect toward each other.

There are some things that still do puzzle me about this site. Like is it possible to edit or delete visitor messages under your profile when they seem outdated. I wonder if all the new users know about how to check their private messages and use them. I know I posted some visitor messages when I intended to send a private message. I like having the private message option but wonder how some people opt out of having it and why?

Uploading pictures some times seem difficult to do for me and I don't know why. It usually takes me several tries to get them to show up where intended. Sometimes the same is true for links. I haven't found any way to upload power point picture presentations and am assuming that is not an option. I see options for inserting videos but don't recall seeing one any where.

I am sure there are still other things for me to learn about this site, but I am glad i found it and enjoy using it often. Thanks to every one who make it possible by hosting it, administering every thing, and all who post and share their thoughts here.

Chris G