PDA

View Full Version : For the Ladies...

NicShaf
06-08-2011, 09:30 AM
I have a sort of embarrassing question, but I really want to ask, so here it goes...
I've been having tenderness in my breasts for the past couple months. It has been getting progressively worse since I've started my treatment. Mostly during my...ehem... "time of the month", but sometimes just some soreness in the morning too. I bought some bras without underwire, and that seemed to help with the comfort.
My question is, is it due to my meds? Or my weight gain? I've put on about 40 lbs in the past 6 months. Personally, I think the weight is the culprit, but I was wondering if anyone else has experienced such a problem, or if I should see my PCP about it.
Thanks!

elephant
06-08-2011, 01:10 PM
Ask your PCP and GYN doc. It is normal to have tenderness in your breast during menstration.

Sangye
06-08-2011, 01:39 PM
Prednisone messes up a lot of hormones, including progesterone and estrogen. Progesterone deficiency is rampant even among non-Weggies. It causes tenderness and fibrous breasts, worse during your period. A progesterone-deficiency can be easily treated with natural progesterone cream but I suggest you see a holistic physician like a naturopath for the proper care.

When I was treated at Mayo AZ, a gynecologist told me natural progesterone did not interfere with the other drugs we're on or with Wegs. Synthetic progesterone (aka progestins) in birth control pills act in an opposite way--increasing imbalances in the body, and worsen progesterone imbalances.

NicShaf
06-09-2011, 01:32 AM
Thanks! I hadn't thought about Preds being a hormone and that messing up my other hormone levels. That makes me feel better:)

Sangye
06-09-2011, 02:18 AM
Pred is a corticosteroid affecting the adrenals, which produce 40 hormones. Hormones work by feedback loops, communicating with other hormones throughout the body. This is why any disturbance in the endocrine system causes a disruption to the entire body.