PDA

View Full Version : Getting a Root Canal tomorrow!

elephant
06-01-2011, 08:25 AM
I have been struggling with left maxiallary/tooth/ear pain for months. Finally I went back to the Denist today and it appears I have a abscess in my upper left tooth. I had a root canal on the same tooth 6 years ago around the same date. Thank goodness I put myself on Bactrim for two weeks, which helped the pain/ possible sepsis. Wondering if we are prone to abscesses?

pberggren1
06-01-2011, 08:59 AM
I seem to think we are prone to abscesses but it seems to be due to where and how much damage is done by the Wegs.

drz
06-01-2011, 01:22 PM
I have been struggling with left maxiallary/tooth/ear pain for months. Finally I went back to the Denist today and it appears I have a abscess in my upper left tooth. I had a root canal on the same tooth 6 years ago around the same date. Thank goodness I put myself on Bactrim for two weeks, which helped the pain/ possible sepsis. Wondering if we are prone to abscesses?

Did your doctor tel you to hold the immune suppressants for a couple days when you do this?

Sangye
06-01-2011, 01:41 PM
I'm glad you found the "root" of all that pain, and that it wasn't Wegs at least. I imagine a small infection would turn into an abscess much more easily in an immune-compromised person.

But I have a question-- how do they do another root canal on the same tooth? Isn't the root already gone?

elephant
06-01-2011, 10:23 PM
That will be my question too Sangye. I too wonder the same thing Drz. Let you know how it went. Not looking forward to it.:scared::sad:

Psyborg
06-02-2011, 01:36 AM
I ended up have two myself earlier this year, and I noted a marked improvement in my overall feeling when I did. Not sure if it was causing Wegs to smolder, but it sure seemed like it.

elephant
06-02-2011, 06:00 AM