PDA

View Full Version : Irony

freakyschizogirl
02-05-2011, 09:16 AM
I work as a Supported Living Worker for people with Prader-Willi syndrome. The cruel irony here is their syndrome is as rare as wegs (give or take a few thousand) and yet there is so much more awareness for their condition.

In June i am going to the Prader-Willi Association conference. Which is spread out over 3 days and includes activites for Carers and the people they support. Where's the Wegs conference? lol? Cant help but feel "what about me?" Where's my activity weekend? Be nice to meet us with us Weggies in the UK and i'm sure American, Australian and European Weggies feel the same. I know the Vasculitis Foundation has links on its website for support groups but its not nearly the same thing, especially as its not Wegs specific.

Porbably just me moaning here....

drz
02-05-2011, 09:51 AM
Are you involved with the Essex Vasculitis support group?

How about the London Marathon to raise funds April 17th?

Any plans to do anything to promote awareness like give talks, pass out brochures, or wear your:wink1: Weg t-shirt to the Mall?

freakyschizogirl
02-05-2011, 10:01 AM
I'd wear my Weg T-Shirt to the Mall! and i dont think i know enough to give talks etc, lol.

Think i'm having one of those out in the wilderness days where it feels pretty lonely to be a Weggie.

Sangye
02-05-2011, 11:56 AM
Aww, don't feel lonely.... We're right there with you. :hug2:

freakyschizogirl
02-05-2011, 09:49 PM
Thanks Sangye:hug1:

chrisTIn@
02-05-2011, 10:00 PM
The cruel irony here is their syndrome is as rare as wegs (give or take a few thousand) and yet there is so much more awareness for their condition.

In June i am going to the Prader-Willi Association conference....

Where's the Wegs conference? lol?
...Cant help but feel "what about me?" ....

Hi Fr.Schizogirl. Sorry to hear you feel alone. Hope you will be feeling better soon.