PDA

View Full Version : Agent Orange and Wegener's Granulomatosis

catsmtn
01-20-2011, 12:57 AM
I am a Vietnam vet and was diagnosed with WG in November 2010. I served in the USAF in Vietnam at the close of 1966 through November, 1967. Never sick, WG came for no where. In my research, I have noted that the VA to date has determined WG Vietnam vets are not eligible for benefits. In July 2010, another autoimmune disease, Grave's Disease, was related to Agent Orange. The study was presented at the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists annual meeting in Boston by Dr Ajay Varanasi, an endocrinology fellow in the University of Buffalo Department of Medicine. He said that the results of the survey of medical records of upstate New York veterans born between 1925 and 1953 showed that the disease was three times more common among individuals who encountered the dioxin-containing chemical as opposed to those who were not exposed.
http://www.endocrineweb.com/news/thyroid-diseases/2002-study-finds-evidence-link-between-thyroid-disease-agent-orange-exposure.
I have prepared a draft of a nexus letter for my doctor which includes the statement that "more likely than not, Paul Rosedale's Wegener's Granulomatosis was caused by exposure to Agent Orange in Vietnam". There is no other cause one can name. This letter will be submitted with my application for benefits. I need to know your experiences on this subject, and if you believe your doctor would be willing to sign a letter with a similar underlined statement for you. The more letters we have, the better our chances for benefits. Willing to share any of my research with you.

JanW
01-20-2011, 01:40 AM
Hi, Catsmtn - I can't speak to your particular case, but most docs will tell you that the mechanism by which WG is activated is poorly understood/completely unknown. I do not believe that my doctor would ever say that my WG was caused by one particular thing.

catsmtn
01-20-2011, 01:45 AM