PDA

View Full Version : Just let me get this off my chest

CarolG
11-25-2008, 11:51 AM
:oI was finally diagnoses with WG after being sick for nearly one year. I was treated for pneumonia last fall '07 until I went to the ER where I work as a nurse manager because I just couldn't keep going anymore. That was Dec 17th and after a CT scan the ED doc said I had metastatic lung cancer!!! I was blown away and it was one week from Christmas. Needless to say I was devastated and it was a very difficult Holiday. Well the story gets crazier, but finally I was admitted to another hospital on Jan 18th and told I had blood clots in my lungs in addition to the lung ca. Well by the time I was discharged from there (3 days later) they decided I probably didn't have lung ca, but I did have blood clots. The other nodules they had seen originally they weren't sure of the cause. I was then treated for aspiration pneumonia in June, because I continued to cough up blood if they took me off prednisone. That was after i once again was hospitalized with the diagnosis of lung ca again. Finally my pulmonolgist decided I might have some type of vasculitis and referred me to a nephrologist and rheumotologist. The last physician diagnosed me with WG after tests alone, no biopsies because of being on blood thinners for the blood clots. I'm so sorry for rattling on, but I feel better just getting all this off my chest. I felt so sick for so long and I felt like I must becoming a hypochondriac. My primary physician, treating for the pneumonia for so long, kept telling me, "Well you know you are getting older and you just take longer than younger people to get well"!!! May I say I work 50 hours a week minimum and didn't stop working for over 3 months until I just couldn't go on and went into the ER. All my tests confirmed it was WG and my symptoms were almost textbook.